17th Asian Games Incheon 2014 Blogger “CREW”

I’m delighted to share with you that I’ve been chosen as one of the Blogger “CREW”. In fact I am the only representative from Singapore!

To be selected, candidates have to prepare 2 write-ups

  1. Introduce myself and explain why I want to join the Asian Games Crew
  2. Write an article related to any sports or Asian Games

For the sports write-up, I wrote an article on “Taekwondo, where the human spirit shines”. Let me share with you 5 quick facts about Taekwondo:

  1. Taekwondo is one of the 28 Olympic Sports that will be play in the Asian Games Incheon 2014.
  2. Taekwon is not just a martial art, but it also develops the mind and cultivates the learner of desirable values such as tolerance, respect and benevolence.
  3. In the past, Taekwondo, or the various names that it is known throughout its history such as Taekkyeon, was played at folk festivals as a form of healthy competition between neighbouring villages in Korea.
  4. In the last Asian Games in Guangzhou, Korea won a total of 10 medals in Taekwondo.
  5. I am sure many in Singapore will be familiar with this. Mr Choi Dae Ho, 22, a South Korean undergraduate who majors in Taekwondo at Jeonju University displays this true essence of a Taekwondo learner to the fullest. In February 2013, he was one of four Koreans who came to Singapore as part of the Korea-based World Taekwondo Federation Peace Corps, and on his day off from the daily training, he encountered a barefoot stranger on a public bus. Without a second thought, he gave his slippers to this old lady, who teared at his kind gesture. While his generosity generated much online buzz, he humbly responded that it was a small gesture on his part. Mr Choi hopes to become a taekwondo instructor for the handicapped in the future.

Do look forward to my sharing of the 17th Asian Games Incheon 2014, Incheon and my role!