My 31 days in Korea (2014)

I gave some thought on how I will write this, my overall thoughts from spending 31 days in Korea.

Grateful and thankful for the amazing journey, that I might never be able to do so again/in another country. At the same time, I am saddened by the Sewol disaster, which I learnt on the morning as my family and I took the 40 minutes bus from Busan to Gyeongju.

I will take time to blog about my experiences, but if you follow me on Instagram, you would have already seen, among the others, the charming Gurye landscape, beautiful Hwagae flowers, Kim Soo Hyun being everywhere, the Music Bank I attended (thank you again to Darcy!), and the cottage-looking pension in the woods in Gyeongju.

Of course there are other favourite memories, like hiking Dobongsan, my first experience in a jijimbang, and the best meal ever in Jeonju.

IMG_20140328_213326IMG_20140330_162803IMG_20140405_002933IMG_20140417_192017IMG_20140416_151034IMG_20140415_015031

Lastly, thank you. To those whom have gone all the way out to help us, interacted with us and brought us along on their journeys, took care of us despite our poor command of the Korean language, shared with us their lives and allowed us briefly into theirs, in small ways or big. And again, sorry to my friend Darcy that we didn’t meet (I will miss you more haha but I am sure we will meet soon).

I think I did manage to do quite a bit of what I set out to do – basically being closer to nature and interacting with the locals – (despite 2 weeks of running nose, more than 1 week of coughing and random days of 2 degrees!) at the end of the journey, I feel thankful, satisfied, recharged and ready to ease back into my normal, ordinary life.

So till the next time, 보고싶어(요).

Leave a Reply

