Why is there opening date for Korea’s beaches

IMG_8180

(Image: my sister @ Haeundae Beach 해운대해수욕장, Busan 부산) Now, I am always curious why there are beach opening notices in Korea (we never have in Singapore!). So I asked Harry (the Korean friend I made while travelling in Gurye) and he shared with me that while people can go to the beaches anytime, the relevant organisations announce the opening of the beaches during the best time to visit the beaches and when the relevant facilities are ready.

And some days ago, I read this article with interest, “the decision to extend the beach season does not rest with the province alone. A variety of organizations and institutions must be consulted including the coast guard, fire service and, most importantly, the village communities. The final decision rests with villagers as they would be largely responsible for the day-to-day maintenance of the beaches. Year-round beach opening has been piloted in the past, but villagers struggled to maintain facilities and toilets became crime hotspots. The early opening would also depend on adequate infrastructure and standards at public beaches such as there being sufficient sand for public recreation, clean and efficient facilities (showers, toilets, etc) and life guards available.”

So there you go, if you are curious like me, now you know. And I am really slow in updating my #31KoreaDays because you know I am really crazy about World Cup now (not forgetting I’ve a day job, didn’t take any leave, never skip my 3 times a week exercise regime and sometimes still crazily cook. The other morning I managed only 30 minutes of the match, crashed on the sofa and slept for 3 more hours before going for a walk). The dark circles around my eyes were the worse that I ever experienced TT

Leave a Reply

