When you can’t give enough thanks..

Throughout our #31KoreaDays, there were numerous friendly, kind and helpful, generous Koreans whom went an extra mile to help us. And boy, I was glad we brought along some local snacks,as a small gesture of appreciation, to share with them. I never used to do that when I was travelling in Europe (though I brought with me little slips with my contact details for those I hope to keep in touch with) but years of travelling on my own, and touched on countless occasions, I started to feel bad for not having something, or simply anything, on me that I can share and reciprocate.

So in preparation of the #31KoreaDays, we packed some snacks with us. If you are also scratching for ideas for some Made-in-Singapore products for your new friends, the pension owner, or just some snacks to share with people you meet along the way, you might find this list useful (some of which are ideas from Happydalki and discussions that I caught on). Do share with me what you bring with you by leaving a comment too!

Easy-to-pack/bring food suggestions: bak kwa (they come in small little packs that’s good for sharing!), chocolates, packs of milo/ holick, kaya, Haw flakes, sweets (Hack, white rabbit, Ovaltine candies…), Tou Chi Peng/ Navel or Belly Button Biscuits (Edits: so apparently the belly button biscuit is not a Singapore thing. Read here), butterfly crackers/ pig’s ear biscuits, Honey cake (I’m trying to find a photo of it, but basically it is a traditional round-shaped biscuit made of flour and honey)

Other food suggestions: pandan cake (I think some foreigners recognise the Bengawan Solo brand!), Kek lapis, Hae Bee Hiam rolls, pineapple tarts

Beware that some of these food items might melt and end up making a mess! Also, for highly exportable items such as bak kwa, some brands (e.g. Bee Cheng Hiang) do have overseas branches, so if you are buying those snacks you can consider brands with no/limited overseas branches (e.g. Lim Chee Guan).

Non-food ideas: Tou Chi Peng magnets (I saw them being sold in Sg National Museum, but considering that foreigners might not know that is a local snack, you might want to pair it with the edible Tou Chi Peng!)

Overall I think it’s the thought that counts! Whether it is a sweet or a sincere thank-you, they are just different ways to express your gratefulness/ thanks. Just that if you are travelling outside of the city to the countryside, why not also bring along something to share and make someone’s day as great as they’ve made yours ^^

Leave a Reply

