Mandarin Oriental Bangkok

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES  SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

(Photos of – Superior Room, with a partial river view.. breakfast view, Christmas decorations, and the swimming pool and shuttle ferry service)

After 10 years (and 15 days – the last time I was in Bkk was also during Christmas in 2006), I was finally back in Bangkok for a work trip. I spent most of my time in the hotel compound but I’ve to say it was such a lovely experience at Mandarin Oriental Bangkok.

The room is huge, but the wow factor for me is the in-room interactive entertainment system which allows for iPod integration. In short, it just means that I can connect my iPod and listen to my favourite songs at any corner of the room. Even with the sound of the running water in the bath/shower area, with the Bose speaker, I can tune the volume easily with the tuner in the shower area. I supposed most people will pick the huge bed as their wow factor – but for someone who has to listen to music in an unfamiliar environment to feel at ease, this is definitely made for me. Before the trip I was contemplating to bring my ipod speakers so that I can listen to my favourite songs while showering (compared to listening to those few songs in my handphone) and I am so glad I didn’t need those speakers. Needless to say, the songs are on as soon as I stepped into my room, and that’s my favourite moments.. Compared to the rest of the room, the design of the bath/shower area has more characters (white tiled ceiling, blue decorative tiles, marble table top and wooden flooring… ah and those lamps) and so that’s my favourite part of the room.

Other than that, the room/ facilities and services are amazing. In my 3 nights there, I could go around the room and still find something interesting, like – a retractable clothing line in the shower area, bind for the toilet/bedroom, a printer in the room (though I didn’t need to use it!). Once I went back to my room in the day and realised they actually make my room twice in a day – in the afternoon they would add more huge pillows that’s great for a quick lie-down. At night when I am back again, they would have a little sleep-well note with flowers on the bed, along with slippers and bottles of water at the side of the bed. I managed a quick swim one morning (alone in the pool at 630am!) and it sure was a relaxing (albeit super cold) swim. The service staff are great too – they demonstrated great teamwork and dedication, making you feel that your stay is not just all about the room. It definitely feels great to walk into the breakfast area and someone sort of recognise that you are rushing for time/ drinks coffee and not tea/ usually dine in with your colleague/ is your last day in Bkk and asked what you intend to do for the last few hours. The service staff at the conference area even noticed that I never touched the bottle of mineral water (I always grab a hot cup of water whenever possible) such that when my colleague asked that they serve water for me, they came with both a hot cup of water and a bottle of mineral water. How cool!

Because it was such a nice stay, I thought of staying there with my family during one of the quick getaway, someday. And how cool, your shuttle service to the nearest BTS is a shuttle ferry ride ^^

So, belated Merry Christmas – I also love the huge tree at the lobby, that’s decorated by a variety of fresh red flowers, giving off the smell of freshness whenever I linger long enough.

 

One thought on “Mandarin Oriental Bangkok

  1. Pingback: Bangkok Christmas 2014 | skiesy

Leave a Reply

