Busan & Spring 2014 (Part 2)

IMG_8033 IMG_8036 IMG_8038 IMG_8041 IMG_8043 IMG_8044 IMG_8052IMG_8056IMG_8061IMG_8070 IMG_8083

During the time that I was absent from the blog, I was balancing much of life’s demands (day job included) – researching on my Spring 2015 trip, running errands non-stop, recovering from a carrot-allergies reaction etc. Yes there’s such weird allergies TT Perhaps someday I will write an entry about it, together with everything I learn about coconut oil (my recent research interest area being healthy eating).

Anyway, back to #31KoreanDays, my sister and I spent the night at Silloam Fire Pot Sauna 실로암불가마사우나 (isn’t it a great idea to sleep over at one of the Jimjibang, especially for those short nights?) before heading off in the wee morning to meet our parents in Incheon International Airport. We were slightly late despite taking the first train to the airport. After a quick breakfast at MacDonald, we took the KTX at Seoul Station to Busan (From mid-2014, KTX trains are directly connected to Incheon Airport!).

Upon arriving in Busan (yes Kim Soo-Hyun is everywhere ^^), we took a cab to Tower Hill Busan. We really love everything about the hotel! The 2 double beds took up only half the size of our room (!), leaving us lots of space to open up our luggage, or just walk about without bumping into each other. Except for pensions/guesthouses outside of cities, we never had so much space in city hotels! The toilet even comes with a bathtub. I recalled the hotel is pretty new, and it shows from the facilities. Everything’s new and clean too! It’s a 7-minutes walk to the nearest Metro (Jungang) and near to the usual Busan tourist attractions. In fact, we took most number of cab rides in Busan, since everything is pretty near-by so its more affordable for the 4 of us. Lastly, a common deliberation in where to stay in Busan is this – do I want to stay near the beach (which is about an hour metro ride from the city/everything!) or in the city centre. We only had 4 days in Busan and considering that the weather is too cold to enjoy the beach, in the end we decided to stay in the city.

After checking in, we went to Nampo-dong Lets eat alley / Changseondong Meokja Golmok  남포동 먹자골목 for a quick meal – Dang-myeon 당면, mini kimbabs with odengs, sikhye (not cheap considering everything adds up to 17,000 Won, but we love the food and the experience of eating in a small space), and 씨앗 호떡 Seed Hotteok. We walked around but nothing interest us so we ended up at Lotte Supermarket haha! Love the fresh and cheap strawberries (compared to the prices we pay in Sg!).

(Less than 3 weeks to Korea ^^ and a much- needed haircut, hello!)

3 thoughts on “Busan & Spring 2014 (Part 2)

  1. Hi Skiesy,

    I do agree that a common problem people face when coming to Busan is where to stay. Near the beach or in the city as such. I have even wrote about it in my latest post of which I try to give some advantages and disadvantages of staying close to the beach or closer to the city. If you visit Busan again will you stay near the beach or stay in the city again? http://boundforbusan.com/2015/11/best-area-to-stay-in-busan.html

    Also cool to see you stayed at Tower Hill Hotel, I was going to stay there on my last trip but ended up staying somewhere else.

    nice blog btw 🙂

    • Hi Markvale, thanks for dropping by 🙂 Guilty as it is, I hadn’t been updating my blog. Hence I am thankful you dropped by and left a comment! I am torn, that if I go back should I stay in the city or the beach! Personally I dont like to shift (i.e. stay equal days in both places). But if I am going back with my family, I think I will stay at Tower Hill again! If I am with friends/ summer/ more budget, I don’t mind staying near the beach for a change. I briefly saw how much information you shared on your blog. Am going to read your blog tonight 😉 thanks again!

      • haha it is time consuming, so I know how you feel. I will look into Tower Hill possibly for my next stay. So many choices. Hope your next trip goes well. all the best and keep blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

