BUSAN & SPRING 2014 (PART 3)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES  SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

People sometimes like to compare Busan to Seoul, something like how Madrid is compared to Barcelona in that sense. To me, Seoul is convenient since international flights would arrive in and depart from Seoul, hence it’s definitely a place that you will spend a few days in. Also it really does have pretty much everything you need, whether it’s food, shopping, palaces or even hiking. Though increasingly we are spending more days outside of Seoul, for there’s just so much other things to do/see e.g. mountains/ sea/ countryside/ islands!

Prior to Busan, I’ve never been to a fish market in Korea. Hence, going to Busan Jagalchi Fish Market was one of the highlights for me. Another place that I was looking forward to was Gamcheon Culture Village (though I think I might have confused it with the one in Tongyeong where Nice Guy was being filmed!).

After our brief stay in Busan, I realised I love Busan for its local specialty, shopping and Spa Land Centum City (read about it here)!

My sister definitely loves Busan street food (Hotteok!) while I love Dwaeji Gukbap/ pork rice soup (if anyone knows of a delicious place in Seoul for Dwaeji Gukbap, please share!). As for visiting and eating at Jalgachi Fish Market, I thought its a nice first experience for us. Despite prior research, it was still slightly stressful, especially when we feel bad “browsing” the seafood and taking too long to decide what fish/ seafood to get, and at what price. The maeuntang/ spicy fish soup with vegetables was super delicious, but after my 2015 trip I realised having it non-spicy can be just as/ more delicious!

In terms of shopping, Happydalki and I recently discussed that somehow sometimes Busan shopping is much better than in Seoul ^^ and I think it is because the brands in Busan seem to carry a larger variety, and the prices are lower/ promotion is better. However this could also be a timing issue – that I happened to be in Busan at the right time!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

