Gyeongju & Spring 2014

IMG_8395 IMG_8422 IMG_8431 IMG_8438 IMG_8447 IMG_8455 IMG_8459 IMG_8470 IMG_8488 IMG_8490 IMG_8491 IMG_8495 IMG_8502 IMG_8519 IMG_8539 IMG_8572 IMG_8581 IMG_8592

Gyeongju: Bulguksa Temple & flowers; Cheomseongdae Observatory

Some Korea friends I met during my 2015 trip to Jeju told me that cherry blossoms in Gyeongju is really beautiful. Gyeongju flowers don’t seem huge on the radar of Spring flowers but thinking back, I can agree with them. I was so excited to see pink, fully bloomed flowers (my favourite colour!), plus there weren’t all the buzz and traffic usually associated with flower festivals. Instead, it was all peaceful and calm that it’s easy to forget you aren’t really living there.

We didn’t have much time to appreciate the flowers since it was way past lunch time and we were all hungry. It was a pity that we weren’t too impressed with our lunch choice – some traditional korean food off the beaten paths. For dinner, we had mushroom and tofu stew. We love soups and stews – but the best mushroom stew has to be the one we had in Gurye earlier the trip.

Seeing these photos bring back such lovely memories.. I’m 6 weeks on my new role (in the same company) and man, I feel that, for once, I wasn’t living in my little-Korea-bubble, but in this almost-isolated space that lost tracks of everything that’s happening around me.

No I am not counting. 5 weeks to Bali; 14 weeks to Bangkok. A long way before Christmas.

Leave a Reply

